Tuesday Update

Posted on

class_of_2013_keep_calm_ipad2_case

Tomorrow is my GRADUATION DAY. I’m excited to finally be graduating with my bachelor’s degree and be able to move on to greater things, particularly my master’s meteorology program. While it wasn’t technically in geography as South Dakota State University has it, but in Interdisciplinary Studies, I now consider myself a geographer with my combination of coursework in meteorology, geography, and Geographic Information Systems. I’ve gained so much from my coursework and internship at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and SDSU; it’ll provide me with knowledge that will continue to be useful into the future. Forecasting (including field work, via storm chasing), spatial analysis techniques through use of GIS, cartographic construction, atmospheric and ground satellite image interpretation (such as storm structures and land use), and understanding societal impact issues related to weather (via my thesis) are just some of the realms my unique degree program took me into. I’m so happy to have accomplished my goal, 11 1/2 years after graduating from high school. My master’s program in meteorology will provide me ever more experience and knowledge in forecasting, dynamics, and societal impacts (and maybe a bit more GIS). I’m really excited about the next 2 years and looking forward to sharing how things go with you all. The blog will continue!

In the meantime, I’ll be leaving for Seattle tomorrow to hang out with family and a few friends through Christmas Day. I’ll take pictures throughout my trip and post them here :) Hope everyone is having a good holiday season!

One thought on “Tuesday Update

    Stephanie said:
    December 22, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

