GIS Class Maps #11 & #12

Posted on

Here my latest GIS maps…one from last week and another for this week. Both using some spatial statistics. The first map shows the mean centers of population for three racial minority groups. But in addition, it also displays the standard deviational ellipse for each population. This gives us a sense of the spatial concentration vs. dispersion of the population from the mean. The second map uses a formula for population access to determine (based purely on distance) the accessibility of a location by a particular population. The higher the value, the higher the population’s access to that location. I was kind of on time crunch for the first map, so there are a few little things bugging me about it (stylistically) I wish I could change, but otherwise I’m not too unhappy with it. The second map I received 100% on (as I have with all previous GIS maps in the current class…my current class grade is 99.1%)

Assignment7NicholasHumphreyAssignment6NicholasHumphrey

2 thoughts on “GIS Class Maps #11 & #12

    Rashid Faridi said:
    October 24, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Rashid's Blog.

    Much Needed Update! « All Things Geography said:
    December 9, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    […] GIS project will be similar to GIS Class Map #11, except it will be dealing with the City of Seattle. I’ll be mapping out the mean centers of […]

Leave a Reply

